Expected performance of various fin setups on Baked Potato

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Expected performance of various fin setups on Baked Potato

I'm no fin expert, and was wondering how I should expect these four fin setups to behave differently on a BP:

Futures Controllers
    FRONT FINS:
    HEIGHT: 4.50"
    BASE: 5.05"
    AREA: 18.24"

REAR FINS:
    HEIGHT: 4.53"
    BASE: 3.89"
    AREA: 12.06"

Futures AM2
    FRONT FINS:
    HEIGHT: 4.73"
    BASE: 4.64"
    AREA: 15.98"

REAR FINS:
    HEIGHT: 4.34"
    BASE: 4.07"
    AREA: 12.26"

Futures Rusty
    FRONT:
    HEIGHT: 4.51"
    BASE: 4.46"
    AREA: 15.00"

REAR FINS:
    HEIGHT 3.86"
    BASE: 3.55"
    AREA: 9.93"

Futures MB2
    FRONT:
    HEIGHT: 4.65"
    BASE: 4.50"
    AREA: 15.45"

REAR FINS:
    HEIGHT: 4.22"
    BASE: 4.21"
    AREA: 12.75"

based on my experience:

controllers - fast, retro and fun. Glidey and efficient. Mellow style.
    AM2s - truthfully i think these will be sticky and feel stiff. Not sure they will offer much. if not, try pairing with smaller trailing fins.
    Rusty/MB - probably a bit more free than AM2 due to the slightly more upright shape.

let us know after you have a go.

Comment

i never liked the controllers... i liked the stretch sf4's

Comment

Anyone try a twin fin setup or a knubster in the back?

Comment

I have the MB2 set in my baked potato and it's a fantastic set up for me. I drive hard off my back foot in all waves and on all boards when turning and these fins give me what I need. Having said that, if I'm feeling a little more mellow it allows me to hotdog the wave nicely and just cruise around on the face too. I'm yet to try the controllers, but I"m keen to give them a shot.

Comment

I've been surfing the Futures Rasta Quads recently, and have been VERY happy with them...

Comment