Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Help choosing the right board!

Hi all,

I am looking for a new board, but i am completely lost!

I am a 30 years old guy, 5'5'' with more or less 145 lbs and average fitness and although I surf for more than 10 years I never progressed. I spent most of the time with the wrong type of board, 6´0 or smaller with no volume. So I consider myself to be a beginner/intermediate. I try to surf everywhere, beach break, reef, but no higher than 4 feet.

What board do you think would be a good option? I really like the dominator since everyone says that is a forgiving board maybe a 6'2 or a 6'4. Do you think a chumblee would be a better fit?

All your advice will be a huge help for me.

Thank you.
    Last edited by pedropt; 06-19-2017, 02:46 PM.

Hey Pedropt,
    First, if you do surf for 10 years, you'll not be a total beginner. I did loose some years as holiday surfers on too small boards, too, in the first 10 years, but you'll have some wave, paddling and catching knowledge.
    I did have very occasional good surfs from beginning, but rare. Later I did progress through bigger boards, but going down quickly in length and volume again.
    Good boards to learn manouvers are: oversized mid rocketed short boards (like a dominator or unibrow), fish boards with some performance (like a RNF or crossing over to a potatonator) and pintail/wide nose crossovers. All give you more waves, but allow for some turns and control. I learned to surf steeper waves on a 7'6 semi-gun, and catching small waves on my fish.