Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Baked Potato 5'5" - Too big?

Hello!

I recently bought my first board, a Baked Potato 5'5" with the Futures Controllers Quads, but am starting to wonder if I didn't go a bit too long on the dimensions of the board.

I have surfed a 6'4" NSP fish (pretty narrow board; not really a fat fish) for a year in hollow 2-6ft close-out waves in Thailand, and 6'2"/6'4" short boards in Portugal on better waves. I surf pretty rarely right now since I live in Sweden (and since I haven't had a board until now), but would say I am pretty fit, as my work outs are aimed towards keeping my surfing fitness up.

As for skill, I would say I am a beginner/intermediate or intermediate. I have good board control, can pump speed in a wave, do bottom turns and basic snaps both front- and backside, and read waves/be in the pocket pretty well.

I am 5'7" tall and weigh 150 lbs, 23 years old.

According to the Firewire Volume calculator, I should have gone with a 5'1". The people at the store I talked to who helped me choose the board talked about getting a 4' at first, with 5'5" being the maximum length for me. I went with that one because I felt I didn't want something too short. 5'5" to me sounded pretty crazy. I also thought that by choosing a slightly bigger board, it would handle a bit better in bigger surf.

So my question is, do you think 5'5" was a right choice for me? The few times I've tried it it's amazing and feels perfect, but I want to be able to progress with the board as well. It's on the higher end of my volume range, but still within the limit. Will this limit me somehow?
    Last edited by Heders; 08-14-2015, 04:51 AM.

From my humble experience I would say (1) that a board that feels good usually is good, and (2) that you will know when you start to grow out of a shape or be over volumed as surfing will then start feeling boring or slow or limiting. A truly missized board feels wrong from the start

Comment

Tjena Heders